“Meet Me in Saint Louie”

After a long and grueling day of travel, I have arrived at a friend’s house to park my car and get an hour or so of sleep before I leave for my flight. I think the drive from Columbia to St. Louis was worse than the drive from Kansas City to Columbia. Coming from KC, the storm was terrifying but exciting at the same time. Twice, I thought my car had been struck by lightening because it struck so to me. My car shook from the ground up. The one lightning bolt sounded like it exploded a tree. However, the second leg to St. Louis, although the rain eased up a lot, was more dangerous because I had trouble staying awake. I had to stop at one point but made it okay. Everything is already so exciting and I haven’t even left the country! Maybe I will lose my luggage next…

I am going to miss those closest to me, very dearly, but I am ready to leave, ready to serve, ready to learn, …and ready to sleep. Thank the Lord for the Atlantic Ocean and 767’s.

Snooooooooore,

Ryan

About thesiberianexpress

I am a Christian minister currently serving the people in Orenberg, Russia. This is a record of my encounters and thoughts while living cross-culturally.
This entry was posted in Initial Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Meet Me in Saint Louie”

  1. Morgan says:

    I’m going to miss you dearly too Ryan, but I’m excited that you are doing something like this. I’ll be praying for you the entire time you are over there, and I pray that you return safe and sound and with amazing experiences to share with everyone. Be safe big brother. 🙂

  2. Brittany 2e says:

    next time you come close to death due to sleep deprivation, please call somebody! I’m sure none of us would mind! lol, you better learn some Russian so you can talk to people

  3. mom and dad says:

    Hope you arrived and everything is going well. Looking forward to your updates. We will stay in touch. Sending lots of love 🙂 Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

